Re-Hab Update

6 01 2011

For those of you that know about my fall last March, you know that my rehab has been slow but steady. Today was another step forward.

The hardware holding my shoulder together has been slowly coming apart (screws backing-out and each end of the plate starting to bend outwards) from lord knows what. Either the surgeon doesn’t want to say or he doesn’t know, but I have my suspicions. Anyway, early this morning they took out all the metal hardware in my shoulder and of course the surgeon said “everything looks good”. My hope is that once the healing is done from this hardware extraction that a lot of the pain in my shoulder will finally go away. Only time will tell.

I had a manual manipulation done to the very same shoulder during last summer that was supposed to give me better range of use with my arm. That turned out to be a gigantic waste of pain (If you have ever had one you know what I’m talking about). Going into that procedure I was very upbeat and very positive, however this time things were different. I don’t know if it’s because of the general mood of the country or if I was just paranoid from my last attempt at fixing the same shoulder, but I had a feeling of dread going into this, which strangely enough leads me to a funny story.

This was outpatient surgery, and was done at our excellent hospital here where I live. Outpatient surgery is now done in a brand new wing of the hospital and it’s 100% top-notch. The only thing they need to work on is adding more soundproofing between the holding rooms where you get prepped. For those of you that have experienced Outpatient recently, you know that you get asked the same questions over and over again by many different people prior to going to the operating room. You get asked so many times that it borders on being annoying. One of the initial questions at this hospital has to do with your wishes if something should go really bad and you die. The question that turned into a funny experience today had to do with your religion preferences, if you have any. The guy in the room next to mine was around my same age because I saw him when I first arrived AT 5:30 FREAKIN IN THE MORNING! Sorry for that… Well, I recognized his voice. Anyway, when asked about his religion preference he snickered that “he doesn’t believe in that stuff”. The wife and I just looked at each other and gave each other that knowing look.

I woke up in recovery only two cubicles down from the one I had earlier. It took a while for the cobwebs to clear but I finally got to a point where I could get dressed and the nurse could go over my dis-charge instructions. Moments prior to walking out of my cubicle, they brought in the same man from earlier and put him two spaces down from me. He evidently had a rough time with his procedure because he was moaning. As my wife, the nurse, and myself walked towards the exit we heard him loudly moan to whoever would listen “please God make it stop”. What is it about pain that makes people suddenly religious?

No matter the reason, I found it both funny and promising that he had such a sudden turn-around.

Gio-

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 01 2011
DCG

Glad your procedure went well…and may your recovery only get better!

As for the “non-believer”, it’s never too late! God will see you through all!

6 01 2011
Doc's Wife

Glad to hear that your procedure went well. Hope the shoulder gets back to normal soon. You have had quite a year. Stay off the roof from now on. I hardly ever leave hubby at home alone on this mountainous land we call home because he may get into God knows what. I do hate the out-patient cubicles also–youngest had to have 3 ear surgeries at Emory, and I felt like I knew everone’s business all around us.

8 01 2011
Blonde Gator

Hola Gio!

Glad to hear you are on the mend. I know it’s no fun at all, but you have to keep doing it. I’m convinced the physical therapy is the key.

Blonde Mom’s back to fighting form (zooming around in the convertible Mustang), the physical therapy people were relentless. Hard to believe she broke her pelvis only 5 months ago, but once we got her home from the nursing facility, she ditched the chair, walker, and cane within about three weeks. Not bad for 88!

Just envision the kitty poster…”Hang in there, baby”…although perhaps you should have done that from the roof! JK.

Leave a Reply

