What Is My Purpose

7 05 2010

Yep, it’s me…. long lost Gio.

I have returned with a game changing appreciation for life, and hope to spend the rest of my time on earth helping others learn how to avoid stupid. With that said, I would like to start by saying that I have missed all my friends here at the blog, and would also ask for your forgiveness. Had I known what March 8th, 2010 was going to end up like, I would have gladly stayed in bed that day and only let down people for just that one day. As it turns out, my stupidity will now mean that I will be letting people down for years to come. Not by choice.

On that fateful March day, I was doing some repairs here at the homestead when I fell off a roof and landed on a concrete sidewalk. I have no memory of that day or for the next 2 weeks after. But I know myself well enough to know that I was in a rush to get the job done so I ignored all safety precautions and simply used the stupid method. A method I sometimes think I invented. This time however the stupid method almost cost me my life. As it is, it’s cost me in ways that are hard to convey to others. To give you a short example, it has taken almost 2.5 hours to type to this point of this post, and it could take years before I will get back to my old speed. However, after hearing that I was given my last rites in the hospital, I am thankful that I can even do this little. God has kept me around for some reason. Now it’s up to me to figure out what that reason is.

For those of you that like to know details, let me give you a short list of injuries. Cracked skull. Broken neck 2 places. Broken back 4 places. Broken all ribs on right side. One rib punctured right lung. Right ear drum hole blown in it.  Broken collar bone. Broken shoulder. Broken upper right arm. Broken lower right arm. Broken right wrist. And finally, broken bones in right hand. I think that covers it. As you may guessed, I have many scars (I call them zippers) from multiple surgeries to install cadaver bone, titanium plates, and lot’s of titanium screws. All the scars make me look scary as hell without a shirt on. Although it seems I tried to destroy my body, the doctors that worked on me are all absolute magicians. There is no other health system in the wprld that could have done such a good job at saving my life and putting me back together. 

Enough of my  problems. Although I lost a couple of weeks of memory, I kept up with politics etc while in the hospital and in re-hab. It’s plain to see that not much has improved during my absense, and Obama is still our president. So I plan to keep this blog going and speak my mind about the greatest country on earth. Because of my slow rehabilitation, I will not be able to keep up the blog as I did in the past, but will do as I can. To give you an idea how slow the process is now… it’s taken me 3 attempts over a 2 day period to write this entire post.

Well, that’s all for now. Remember, STUPID is for chumps!

Gio-


Actions

Information

26 responses

26 05 2010
Livefreeordie

I wondered why I hadn’t had any notices for a while from this blog. This evening was a first and it was one of “Duh’s” comments. That, I could have done without. Duh, why are you here?
Gio~
I’m sorry to hear about your accident but am happy to hear you’re on the mend. A day at a time, brother. Thank God you’re mind is intact. You’re body will heal-give it the time it needs and stay strong.

Leave a Reply

