Escape From Obama

24 02 2010

Everytime I see the pics below I suddenly become mute because I am awed by the handi-work of our Creator. I think you will see what I mean when you see the pics of Selenite. Don’t forget the short video.

One of my serious hobbies is being a Rock Hound, and if I want to sound important, I call myself an Amateur Mineral Collector. Fortunately for me, I live in an area that has many minerals still to be found in crystal form. But nothing like you see in these pics. Enjoy and relax while viewing these amazing gifts from God. Hopefully, this will allow you to forget Obama for at least a few minutes. Enjoy…

Be sure to click on each image to enlarge.

Naica Crystals

Explorer gives a sense of scale.

The only reason to visit Mexico IMHO.

This should have been Supermans hideout.

Incredible!


Actions

Information

6 responses

24 02 2010
Doc's Wife

My husband will have to see these. Our two boys (and sometimes my husband) spend too much time digging for rocks when they should be studying. They absolutely LOVE it! I refuse to let them in my house when they get that dirty!

24 02 2010
giovanniworld

DW,

My wife has the same problem. My granddaughter is getting into those teen years where getting dirty is no longer cool, so over the years I have slowly lost my digging partners to them becoming adults and moving on.

Does your crew ever go to dig Saphire at Chunky-Gal mountain?

Gio-

24 02 2010
Doc's Wife

Gio–they have been to Sapphire in the past, also Hiddenite. #2 son is not married so he has more goof-off time, and he has been somewhere near Chunky Gal. My husband says that land-owners there have been known to shoot at people who they think might be fishing in their river.

24 02 2010
giovanniworld

It’s been awhile since I’ve done any digging on Chunky Gal, but if it’s the same as it was when I went the mountain property is Federal land, and Chunky Gal is an approved rock hounding area. In fact, there used to be a small gravel road that took you to the top where there is a parking area that holds about 15 cars. The trails from the parking area are real obvious and can take you off in a few directions. The top of the mountain is where most of the red-ish pink saphire can be found, but requires a LOT of hard work. If you blindly march off into the woods at the bottom of the mountain you stand a small chance of finding large white saphire crystals, some in the order of 12″ long. You also run into a small river at the bottom of Chunky Gal on the Eastern slope. Many years ago, some pretty amazing finds were found in the rocky banks of the river. An oldtimer I met about 15 years ago showed me an incredible bright pink saphire he found on the banks. It is a beautiful crystal with the top sheared off. Even with the top missing it’s still about the size of a large toaster oven. I was speechless when he showed it to me. And now that I think about it, the gravel road that follows the river dead-ends into private property. That could be where the problems are because the rest of the river is stocked for fly fishing by either the state or the feds. I could see how people would keep walking the river while they fish and end up on private land. All you can do is tell them you are leaving and then scoot back to your vehicle. Or, carry a large caliber side-arm and you will be left alone.

Gio-

24 02 2010
Doc

Truly amazing. The video of the crystal cave should be a Wonder of the World. My understanding is that the temps are so great (120-150 degrees) that you will die if you stay in the caves too long. I had seen pics of the crystals before, but I had never see a person standing beside them.

24 02 2010
giovanniworld

Yep, both the heat and humidity levels will kill you in short order. National Geographic filmed a special recently inside the cave and all their people had special suits and breathing apparatus. The first people that you saw on the video going into the cave learned the hard way how little time you can spend in the unfriendly environment.

This cave is one of those things I would like to see in person before I die.

Gio-

Leave a Reply

