Early Weekend Open Thread

19 02 2010

I won’t be back on my blog until much later today, so I thought I would kick-off the weekend open thread a little early.

Winter in my neck of the woods.

One quick update:

As most of you know, we here in North Carolina are not happy with what they are doing with our childrens school cirriculum and we are trying to do something about it. We have held back from moving forward until I had an opportunity to sit down and talk to a cirriculum director for my county school system. This has proven to be harder than one would think. I don’t want to go public with why because I need this guy to meet with me. At a later date I will explain. Trust me, it’s a fascinating little story.

Ok gang, it’s all yours…..

Actions

Information

24 responses

19 02 2010
Will

CPAC is kicking off and seems to be going well but I am wondering about the whole third party thing now. I was not sure how everyone else feel about this but myself I was all for it (a third party) at first but maybe we should back-burner that and try to revitalize the GOP by removing the RINOs. A third party at this point and time has a possibility to cause more harm then good in 2012 by splitting the parties which would almost give Obama a second term.
Also the MSM seems to be pushing the Third party meme as well and if the MSM wants it (for the Tea-parties to go 3rd party) that bad you know something is up.

We need to stick together on this but continue to hold the GOP feet to the fire.

Any other take/ideas on it?

19 02 2010
Tom in NC

You’re right Will, we only have to look back at the last election when the MSM cuddled up to McCain in the primaries, they knew he was a weak candidate, that’s why they backed him and as soon the primaries were over they turned on him like hungry wolves. Any third party movement needs to be squashed immediately we can’t afford to divide the GOP, that would play right into the democrats hands and in turn hand a victory to Obama in 2012.

I’m all for getting rid of the RINO’s and holding the GOP’s feet to the fire but a third party is not the answer. The future of our country is at a critical crossroad and we need to walk carefully and avoid missteps at all costs.

19 02 2010
Doc's Wife

The thing that is bothering me about CPAC and the Repubs is that they seem to be trying to ram down our throats the ones they favor such as Pawlenty and Romney. I DO NOT want them!!

19 02 2010
Will

I agree I don’t like none of them especially Romney and that what the GOP and especially the media is trying to do. The MSM is herding us again like they did with McCain they forced the weakest opponent on us so Bambi would be another shoe-in. We cannot let the MSM or the GOP select another weak candidate again or we are dead in the water for another 4 years.

in 2012 Romney will be our new McCain…this must not happen.

19 02 2010
DCG

Concur w/your thoughts on 3rd party…

Problem I have is repubs aren’t putting forth great candidates…the MSM is run by Axelrod and Emanuel giving them daily talking points to smear repubs. Then you’ve got Palin associated w/Tea Party movement which will be bashed forever..

Personally I wish Fred Thompson would step up and get things under control w/the repubs. He seems to be a straight shooter (and you should see his tweets – doesn’t hold back!).

Will, I’m sure the iPhone will be great, I’ll let you know.

19 02 2010
Will

It’s a confusing time for both DNC and the GOP. The DNC has lost their identity to the ultra left and the GOP has flat out lost their way. In the end I believe both parties will come out of this with some serious cuts and bruises but if we plan right all we will need is a band-aid while the DNC will need to stay in ICU for the foreseeable future.

20 02 2010
giovanniworld

Will,

I hope to God you are correct. Also… check out the video of Romney I just posted. If it’s true Romney is toast! Which will NOT break my heart.

Gio-

20 02 2010
Dave

Why is Romney the RINO at CPAC, anyway?

I thought the “C” was for conservative.

At least McRino wasn’t there.

-Dave

19 02 2010
Doc's Wife

Gio–your picture is lovely, but I am quite sick of this weather. What a week we have had: As a birthday gift my husband gave me concert tickets for Monday night in Atlanta. We go, return Tues. AM, and find that our road is completely covered in ice. We check into a local motel, and Tues. night we have a dead car battery. On Wed. our Marine son-in-law hikes up to check road conditions and discovers that our propane tank is empty. We both hike home today (up 1/2 mile). As I write this we are siting in one small room w/ an electric heater because no way can propane truck get up till Monday. With all this, there’s no place like home!

19 02 2010
Will

Sorry about your predicament DW and I understand. I use propane where I live since I’m in a rural area as well- maybe not as rural as yours- but about 4 miles from town. My dumb luck is I never seem to check the tank until I’m almost out which is usually on a Thursday or Friday. Then I have to wait for a Monday Delivery. I hope the condition there start to stabilize for you soon.

Need to get a bigger tank by the way the 100 gallon don’t cut it anymore.

19 02 2010
DCG

DW – hope it warms up soon for you!

19 02 2010
giovanniworld

DW,

Oh I am completely sick of this weather. If only we could count on global warming!

Those that have city services have no idea the things that can go wrong when weather messes with us in the mountains. Even Angry White Woman below can attest to that and she lives on the west coast. And to make matters worse, if you have any switch-backs to deal with, your 1/2 mile seems more like 5 miles. Even when we had no power for 4 days back in Decembers storm, living in the family room for 4 days was almost fun for us. Because as you said… there’s no place like home!

Good luck this weekend. Will say a prayer for you and your family.

Gio-

19 02 2010
The Angry White Woman

This global heat job is killin’ us in the California Sierra too. Last month we got a season’s worth of snow fall in about four days and, with high winds knockin’ down trees, we were without power for five days. The husband is in construction so we have a 500 gallon propane tank and a kick-ass generator so my household didn’t suffer like a lot of others up here and yet no one called the Nat’l Guard, FEMA or any other emergency response organiztion to hold our hands and rub our cold feet. We also don’t have many liberals up here in the high country, them bein’ big fat pussies an’ all.

19 02 2010
Will

a 500 gallon tank? Damn! we can’t even get a 200 gallon tank without getting the evil eye from our provider (which by the way went belly up!)

20 02 2010
giovanniworld

Will,

Why would they give you the ‘stink eye’ for having such a large tank?

Gio-

20 02 2010
giovanniworld

AWW,

There is a lot to what you said in your post. You and I and many others that think like us, understand that the majority of liberals would have huge problems if government wasn’t there to hold their hand. We on the other hand know better than to wait, and would rather do it our way to begin with. We recently had some mudslides here in our area. Nothing quite as bad as in California, but it was enough to completely close down a road that leads to a mountaintop community. There was no getting in or out. One of the homeowners called and found out that the city and the state was arguing over who’s responsibility it was. He then drove around his neighborhood and talked to some of the other men in the neighborhood. Within an hour they had gathered with bobcats, backhoes, chainsaws, etc, and began the clearing of the road themselves. It was a huge job for a bunch of neighbors to tackle, but they did it. By 7:00 pm they had it cleared, and a story about what they had done was in the newspaper the following day. Not front page of course, that might embarass a politician or two!

Gio-

20 02 2010
The Angry White Woman

Gio,
I’m in property management and during last month’s storm a few of my cleaners couldn’t get out of an area as a big-ass tree had fallen and blocked the road. About the time I was callin’ for a road crew my husband stopped by my office and while I sat there waiting for someone to pick up their phone my spousal unit went and got a honkin’ chain saw, cut up the tree, tied a tow strap around it and pulled it off the road with our DODGE pick-up truck. I believe if I’d gotten through to CALTRANS they’d still be standin’ there, waiting for the engineers and scratchin’ their heads, tryin’ to figure out whose job it is to clear the road.

20 02 2010
Doc's Wife

Gio–for all the hassles and work, I would never live anywhere else. If this country goes to hell, we are in the best possible place. We could pretty much make it, but poor people living in cities would be in a bunch of trouble. Plus, we LOVE not having neighbors. Our last home was on a cul-de-sac, and we never made a move w/o people knowing and discussing our business.

20 02 2010
20 02 2010
Dave

Tom Tancredo pokes a few holes in CPAC 2010:

http://www.wnd.com/index.php?fa=PAGE.view&pageId=125647

CPAC needs to run off the RINOS.

-Dave

20 02 2010
giovanniworld

Dave,

Maybe we should start a PAC called RINO Hunters USA.

Gio-

22 02 2010
Dave

Gio,

LOL-The line forms here.

-Dave

31 05 2010
whatiifthooughtt

Just saying Hi for now!

31 07 2011
Ruitymn

пиелонефрит после диетыкак похудеть и быть красивой и привлекать парнейдиета после аденомэктомиидистрибьюторы диетического питаниякакие продукты показаны при диете №1диета на ананасахдиета для мужчин-моделейдэвид гебер шейпинг-диета читатьпрогнозирование пола ребенка с помощью диеты диета для мальчиковсценарии внекласных мероприятий на тему о правильном питаниибабочки для похудения харьковправильное питание с учетом калориймёд в диетедиетолог-специалист в беларусидиетолог в москвекто похудел с помощью бадовсайт для тех кто хочет похудетьмезотерапия для похудения в красноярскечто такое лишний вескнига 1000 способов похудеть 2002г

Leave a Reply

