Super Bowl Weekend Open Thread

6 02 2010

As we head into a weekend that promises a Super Sunday, lets not forget to give thanks for still living in the greatest nation on Earth. All we have to do now is keep it that way.

Also, it would help to keep our snow-bound east-coast friends in our prayers. This would be a terrible weekend to have your power knocked out.

Just for the heck of it… I just got back from spending some time arguing with some Huffpo turds, and found a disturbing trend. Most of the hardcore a**holes have an attitude that older Americans should be expendable so they (the younger ones) can enjoy a better life. It seems as if we are not being divided so much on political lines as we are on age. They seriously want us out of the way. How’s this for logic… they don’t think that seniors should get any money from Social Security even if a person has paid into SS for their entire working lives. Instead, the money that we spend our entire working lives putting into the SS kitty, should go to them for their education or whatever else the government can dream-up. This is scary!

How’s that for a subject starter?

Actions

Information

12 responses

6 02 2010
Doc's Wife

This attitude toward the older ones comes as no surprise to me. I go to Atlanta on a regular basis, and I have seen this attitude. It comes from no other place than ignorance and selfishness. Our country used to tremendously respect our elderly. Families kept parents and grandparents in their homes w/ them instead of dumping them in nursing homes. I definitely would not be the person that I am w/o growing up with 2 grandparents who practically raised me alongside my parents. The stories and values they taught me cannot be equaled. They taught me where I came from and where I needed to go. Families no longer do this, and we are missing something.

6 02 2010
giovanniworld

DW,

I am forced to agree with you. I know of so many stories of how a generation of immature adults use their parents and grandparents as either ATM machines or as their personal drugstore. Once they get what they want, they want nothing more to do with the adults, until they need another fix of course.

Here’s just one story that was told to me by my wife from one of her volunteer trips to help the elderly. A lovely old time mountain woman was found to have incurable cancer and given approx 6 weeks to live. She had been raising her grandson for 9 years because her daughter, the boys mother, likes to whore around, take drugs, and drink alcohol on a daily basis. Well, granny wanted to spend the last weeks of her life with her grandson so she went home with instructions and prescriptions. One of the scripts was for a very powerful narcotic that comes in a patch form. Her daughter was crashed at granny’s home so when granny got home she asked the daughter to please go get the prescriptions filled. My wife had brought granny home from the hospital because nobody else in grannys family would bother to drive the 45 miles. Granny could have asked my wife to get the script filled, but we found out later that she didn’t want to inconvenience my wife any longer.

Grannys pain medicine never made it home. Her daughter had the scripts filled, then emptied grannys bank account. We learned later that the daughter was hospitalized for sucking the drugs off the patches by just putting them in her mouth and using them like chewing tobacco. The day that granny was being buried, the daughter was back at grannys throwing a big party for her druggie friends.

Gio-

6 02 2010
Doc's Wife

Gio–such a sad story but much more common than you think. The daughter is lucky she didn’t overdose like one of our patients who sucked on a Fentanyl patch. People need to come to their senses. These people NEVER work, have Medicaid, and are just the kind that Obama’s entitlements breed! There is no easy answer.

6 02 2010
DCG

I’ve seen the disrepect for elders even from older folks – namely my mom. in 99 my grandmother (we called her Boppie!) broke her hip. Mom placed her in a nursing home then proceeded to move to Arizona for “health reasons”. My sis (who had two young ones at the time) and I ended up taking care of her – daily visits to the home, dealing w/multiple problems w/care, etc. My grandmother then developed cancer and we (my sis and I) were w/Boppie to then end (in May 03). My mom came up only ONCE in that time – to “legally” make the decision to place her in hospice. To this day my mom is still as selfish as ever…and yes she’s a lib.

Well, there’s my sad story…I’m hoping to help change people’s lives that are dealing w/hospice care. My new church group that I joined this quarter is to knit items for children whose parent(s) are in hospice care. Hopefully these children & patients will know that they are loved and cared for. And hopefully they won’t laugh at what I make since I have never knitted in my life πŸ™‚

6 02 2010
giovanniworld

DCG,

As long as you put your heart into whatever you do for them, I’m sure your knitting will be just fine.

Gio-

6 02 2010
bkeyser

Snow in Maryland.

I posted these at Eo’s site as well, but for anyone here who hasn’t seen them, or who wants to see what two feet of snow in a residential neighborhood looks like! here’s a couple pics from my home. These were taken at about 9:30 this morning.

Looking out front, notice the mailboxes and cars parked in driveways across the street.

Out back, this is my sundeck. I hope the damn thing doesn’t come off the house!

Super Bowl prediction: 38-35.

6 02 2010
DCG

Wow, lot’s of snow there…stay safe!

6 02 2010
giovanniworld

BK,

I can’t read the numbers on the yard-stick, how many inches does it read? One glance at your Super Bowl prediction and I almost mistook it for your inches of snow prediction!

BTW… Some prediction, which team scores 38?

Gio-

6 02 2010
bkeyser

Snow has ceased for now, so I got some shoveling done. I also have a very generous neighbor who came by with his snow-blower. Saved me a lot of work. My son will have to clean off the truck, but that’s about 26″.

Oh, and the SB prediction- that was left vague on purpose! Could go either way and all I’m guessing is there will be an offensive explosion.

6 02 2010
giovanniworld

So you still gonna send Al Gore a check to help with us burning up from Global Warming?

πŸ˜‰

Gio-

6 02 2010
bkeyser

Actually, as I just mentioned somewhere else: After shoveling 26″ of snow, I’m thinking about joining the New Black Panther Party because now I too, hate whitey!

6 02 2010
giovanniworld

LOL !!!

Hey I forgot to ask, do you still have power?

Gio-

Leave a Reply

