Half A Weekend Open Thread

9 01 2010

Eowyn had started posting Open Threads on the weekends just prior to her starting-up another blog. In honor of her work with Giovanni’sWorld, lets continue the short tradition with a weekend Open Thread. 

The subject is up to all of you. Enjoy! 

 Click on image to enlarge.

We have a new Artist submitting some of his work to be posted at our sister-site, the 'Conservative Endowment for the Arts'. This is just one of his pieces. What do you think of his work?

 

Actions

Information

27 responses

9 01 2010
Will

Interesting and scary picture above, love the 57 states bit and I pray to God that the last two photos never come to past.

9 01 2010
giovanniworld

Hey Will,

How’s your weekend so far? Only 4 more weeks til Daytona!!!

I did a double-take on the 57 states flag because my first look I did not ‘get it’. When I did ‘get it’ I chuckled, then got mad again. The only people that can keep the last two from happening is “We The People”.

I had to go to one of my favorite stores today “Tractor Supply”, and found a group of men discussing the war. One of the men said something that caught my ear, so I went around to the next aisle and listened. Yeah, I know I was snooping, but I couldn’t help myself. To my surprise, they were not talking about Iraq or Afghanistan, or even the war on terror. These guys were talking about the upcoming civil one right here at home.

Gio-

10 01 2010
Will

Yeah Gio can’t wait for the new season watching all the Barrett Jackson re-runs is killing me. I was going to opt for HD this year to enjoy NASCAR in it’s splendor but I just had a nasty pay cut to compound the elimination of our paid time off so that’s out 😦 . Oh well what can you do? At least I can let off some steam by yelling at Kyle “the weasel” Bush again 🙂

10 01 2010
giovanniworld

Will,

At this point, if you can pay for the roof over your head and put food on the table, you are one-up on the 5-6 million people that have no job.

Maybe you could get a poster of Kyle and use it as a dart-board?!

Gio-

10 01 2010
Will

That is true Gio, trust me brother I am in no way knocking my situation I am truly lucky to still have a job and that it will still be around for a long time to come.

10 01 2010
Doc's Wife

Gio–it’s not just the men in the tractor store talking about a war here. My 80 year-old mom has been discussing this for months, and she has never worried about politics much.

9 01 2010
bkeyser

Nice Gio! Who’s the artist? Great to know someone else is submitting some work! Can’t wait to see more.

Btw- check your caption- should be CEA.

9 01 2010
giovanniworld

BK,

Thanks for the heads-up. Captions fixed!

All I know so far is his name is James. He is evidently just starting out, this was one of his better ones, but he shows a lot of potential!

Gio-

9 01 2010
bkeyser

I just posted a couple of new images to my Flickr site. I really like this one.

Harry Reid needs to go and Conservatives need to be on this with a very, very loud drumbeat.

9 01 2010
giovanniworld

BK,

The first link won’t work for me? Will have to try again later.

Reid is a useless piece of crap and should be treated as such, by everyone!

Gio-

10 01 2010
DCG

Reid will be gone…Brown is up in MA, in MA for Pete’s sake!

2010 is going to be a very good year…

10 01 2010
Will

DCG I just heard that Obama is heading out there and so are the other lefty loons to stop the bleeding I hope Brown can hold out.

10 01 2010
DCG

Well, Obama went to Virginia and New Jersey to campaign for their governors and look how well that turned out!

Brown is all over twitter this weekend…he’s raising big bucks right now. Fingers crossed he comes through.

10 01 2010
Will

As a matter of fact DCG my brother and myself was just talking about that as well and hoped Obama continues to “bring the pain”…on his own party 🙂

10 01 2010
DCG

hear hear!

sounds like hopeandchange sucks for you w/your job…we (those of us still left at my firm) got cut back to 32 hrs/week with no OT pay as well…just happy to still be employed (and I’m getting rather sick of saying that).

10 01 2010
Will

32 hrs? Ouch! man I hope things improve for you bud and I agree 100% with your last statement.

10 01 2010
Eowyn

Debbie,

Sorry about the cut to 32 hours, but happy & relieved that you’ve survived yet another round of layoffs. It’s the 4th round, isn’t it? Sure hope that’s the 4th and last round!

10 01 2010
Will

Sorry for the “bud” Deb sometimes my fingers type faster then my brain can respond.

10 01 2010
DCG

Eowyn, last round of layoffs?….keeping my fingers crossed. Our gross rev estimate for this year is down from $15M (3 yrs ago) to just $7M….hard to keep a full staff going on half of your normal rev.

Will, no worries! 🙂

10 01 2010
Eowyn

Good grief! 15M to 7M! Your firm is making less than half its revenue of 3 years ago. That is not good….

All of which testifies to your competence and professional excellence that you’ve been retained through 3 successive layoffs. You must be one impressive gal! 😉

10 01 2010
Steve

Gio…Have you seen this quote from Reid yet

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid of Nevada described in private then-Sen. Barack Obama as “light skinned” and “with no Negro dialect, unless he wanted to have one.” Obama is the nation’s first African-American president.
From a story on Drudge……seems Harrys a bit of a racist….sheesh, and we’re the one’s being called racist.

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20100109/ap_on_el_se/us_obama_reid

10 01 2010
Doc's Wife

Trent Lott got kicked out for similar talk, and Barry was one of the ones against him. Now, it seems, he forgives Harry Reid. Go figure!

10 01 2010
DCG

Double standards…it’s all the dems have!

10 01 2010
bkeyser

Damn! Don’t know what happened to the link. Let me try this:

TorturedReid_01

10 01 2010
Eowyn

More pics of Lcpl Jeff De Young and his bomb-sniffing dog, Cena, “the shortest Marine in Afghanistan”:

http://fellowshipofminds.wordpress.com/2010/01/10/more-pics-of-jeff-cena/

10 01 2010
DCG
10 01 2010
DCG

Whoa…anyone watch the GB/Arizona game? That was a nail biter! Go Cards!

Leave a Reply

