A Crisis Of Culture

10 12 2009

H/T goes out to FW for this one.

I am a seventh generation Mississippian and wanted to come back here after going somewhere else for college and medical school.. My extracurricular interests are golf, hunting, fishing and college football.

Dear   Sirs:

    “During my last  night’s shift in the  ER, I had the pleasure of  evaluating a patient with an expensive shiny gold accessory,  multiple elaborate  expensive tattoos, a very expensive brand  of tennis shoes  and a new cellular telephone equipped  with her favorite tune for a ringtone.. Glancing  over the chart, one  could not help noticing her  payer status: Medicaid. She smokes more  than  one costly pack of cigarettes every day  and, somehow, still  has money to buy  beer.  

    And  our Congress expects  me to pay for this woman’s  health  care? Our  nation’s  health  care crisis is  not a shortage of  quality  hospitals, doctors or  nurses.  It is a crisis of   culture ˜  a culture in  which it is perfectly acceptable to spend money  on  vices while refusing to take  care of one’s self or, heaven forbid, purchase health   insurance.  A culture that  thinks “I  can do whatever  I want to because someone else will always  take care of  me”.  Life is really   not that hard. Most of us reap  what we  sow.  Don’t you  agree?  
                                                                                        
STARNER  JONES,  MD
Jackson ,   MS  

Actions

Information

3 responses

11 12 2009
Doc's Wife

There is a real crisis of culture in our country, and this group of idiots in the White House is pushing it! We lived in the Mississippi delta for 6 yrs. when we were very young,and what a shock it was! Many on Medicaid came to the office in Cadillacs; they never showed up on time for their appts. All would come in en masse when their soap operas were over. They would hatefully throw their required dollar at you. There WAAS NO EXCUSE FOR SUCH RUDENESS !!!

11 12 2009
littlemissmuffin

Our other daughter is an emergency room nurse. Her hospital received some of the Katrina people for diagnosis, treatment, etc. The first thing out of most of their mouths were: “Where are my drugs and my money?” No “thank you”, no nothing. Just give me my drugs and my money.

We have too many entitlements in this country. Able bodied people should have to work for what they want. It shouldn’t just be given to them. That said, we are the most charitable country in the world. The people who cannot work need to be taken care of. We aren’t totally heartless, but some folks just don’t want to pull their fair share of the workload.

I am getting more and more cynical every single day. I don’t believe anything that comes out of a politician’s mouth. They are so entrenched in the DC workings that they don’t know how to tell the truth anymore. It’s all rhetoric and “pelosi.” (see below)

Got this in an email:

Years ago when I sometimes used unsavory language, I often used the expression “Bull S***.” As I grew up a bit and discovered it was not necessary to use such crude language, that expression became “BS.” What did I really mean when I used those expressions? I meant that something was ridiculous, or idiotic or a half truth or just stupid. It covered any number of negative formats. The dictionary defines it as: nonsense; especially: foolish insolent talk. I have decided that I no longer will use either of those expressions in the future. When I have a need to express such feelings, I will use the word “Pelosi.” Let me use it in a sentence. “That’s just a bunch of Pelosi.” I encourage you to do the same. It is such a nasty sounding word, it really packs a punch, we are no longer being vulgar, and it clearly expresses our feelings. If enough of us use it, perhaps the word could be entered into the dictionary. When on a ranch watch your step and don’t step in Pelosi. It will get on the bottom of your boot and won’t go away until next election. What a fitting and descriptive legacy for the Speaker of the House!

11 12 2009
Doc's Wife

This is simply brilliant. It does sound rather nasty.

Leave a Reply

