Weekend Open Thread

5 12 2009

 

Something on your mind? Got a gripe? or good news to share? or a joke?

Okay, friends of Gio’s World, you know what to do!

I’ll start with this anecdote sent to me by an e-mail acquaintance, Glenn N. 😉

~Eowyn

……………

A GREAT SENIOR MOMENT
 
Here’s a quote from a government employee who witnessed a recent inter-action between an elderly woman and an antiwar protester in a D.C. airport. There were protesters on the train platform handing out pamphlets, on the evils of America. I politely declined to take one.

The elderly woman was behind me getting off the escalator and a young (20-ish) female protester offered her a pamphlet, which she politely declined. The young protester put her hand on the old woman’s shoulder as a gesture of friendship and in a very soft voice the young woman said, “Lady, don’t you care about the children of  Iraq?”

The old woman looked up at her and said, “Honey, my father died in France during World War II, I lost my husband in Korea, and a son in Vietnam. All three died so a bitch like you could have the right to stand here and badmouth our country. If you touch me again, I’ll stick this umbrella up your ass and open it.”

God Bless America!

Actions

Information

26 responses

5 12 2009
Cec Moon

Eowyn, that is a beautiful story! It sounds like something Granny would do. As geezers continue to age, their tolerance levels decrease in inverse proportion to the acculation of years. Observation of a precipitous drop to near zero provides a reliable indicator of immenent death.

5 12 2009
Eowyn

Cec,

Beginning when I was in my 20s, my aspiration is to one day “mature” into an irascible little old lady who hits annoying people with her umbrella. I’m well on my way! LOL 😀

5 12 2009
NoFancyName

Eowyn,

Have your typing related repetitive stress injuries gotten any better?

5 12 2009
Eowyn

NoFancyName,

How thoughtful of you! Yes, it’s a little better because I’m avoiding my desktop computer. I bought a laptop and have been using it almost exclusively.

Bless you!

5 12 2009
Cec Moon

Back in the sixties, my grandmother, then 92, complained that the bus service no longer operated on Sunday and she couldn’t get to church. She contacted the appropriate authorities at city hall and no one took her seriously. One Monday she showed up there with her long swooping dress, best hat, best gloves and the ever present deadly purse and umbrella hanging off her arm.

She asked to see the mayor and was told she’d have to wait as he was out. She then barged past his secretary and into his office and sat down behind his desk. After about two hours and many tries to get her out of there, the mayor “suddenly returned.” He discovered early into their conversation that “no” was not a word he could utter in her presence. He yeilded to her plea that she had been going there for eighty years and had no intention of changing at this late date.

The bus service resumed the following Sunday! It continued until the Sunday after she died 4 years later. The funeral crowd was estimated at nearly 2000. 90% were under 25 years from the local college (now named Univ. of No. Iowa.)

5 12 2009
giovanniworld

Cec,

Thanks for that. What a woman!!!

Gio-

5 12 2009
DCG

I’m supporting those that rallied in NY today to protest Holder. Not getting much coverage by the SCM, of course. Love the sign in this photo:

http://www.nypost.com/p/news/local/families_rally_against_nyc_terror_NO8z7YhLAKPwN6T2IgNTOO

5 12 2009
sofa

samoyed puppies?

we have one. wife wants more. hope she doesn’t see this picture.

5 12 2009
DCG

Ah, come on sofa…your puppy needs another puppy buddy!

5 12 2009
giovanniworld

DCG,

I feel for him. We have puppy problems of our own in my house.

Me, I like a mans dog like Black Labs. I have two of them and think they are the best dog God put on this earth. However, my wife likes the smaller type of dog that seems to have endless energy and endless bathroom needs. She loves Poms! We went from a high of 5 Poms to where we are now with 4. Sure they are cute and can do all sorts of adorable poses and tricks, but they can’t drag a tree, or a dead skunk to your front door like a Lab can.

Anyway, I understand where sofa is coming from so I hope he keeps the wife away from the computer for the next few days. Maybe he should buy her a dog to keep her occupied!? 😉

Gio-

5 12 2009
DCG

I know…little pups can be high maintenance! I was just kidding…if I didn’t live in a condo I’d have me a real dog as well…I grew up with a German shepard and an Alaskan Malamute and looooved them…

6 12 2009
littlemissmuffin

When we lived in GA, we had a Black Lab who would bring firewood to our back door for us. He also brought us turtles, bricks, a toy cash register, shoes, etc. He seemed to think whatever he found in our yard was a present for us. We loved him dearly. Our daughter was keeping him for us until we found a house in FL, and someone stole him from her yard. We were heartbroken.

I’m one of those wives who likes the fluffy dogs, too. I’m a Cocker Spaniel girl, but our Cocker is well trained. Or does he have ME well trained? LOL

5 12 2009
DCG

Wanna see some liberal heads explode?

6 12 2009
Eowyn

Deb,

THANKS for that terrific video!! It made this Sunday a perfect day 🙂

The part I love the most were the bats flying out of Pelosi’s exploding head. And the sh*t dripping out of Bill Maher’s exploded head is most fitting! LOL

6 12 2009
DCG

Brought to you by a conservative friend on twitter…

My favorite part is when Sarah shoots Madcow’s head!

6 12 2009
littlemissmuffin

DCG: Funny video. Thanks. Now, how can we get these conservative women to run in 2012?

6 12 2009
littlemissmuffin

Great article from Lloyd Marcus – unhyphenated American. Be sure to watch the video “Our Girls” – click on the link at the bottom of the article:

http://www.americanthinker.com/2009/12/in_defense_of_sarah_palin_cons.html

6 12 2009
giovanniworld

missmuffin,

Did you know that Lloyd has proudly agreed to take part in The Conservative Endowment for the Arts? I just started loading some of his stuff last night on “Gallery II” of our brand new CEA blog. Cool huh?

Gio-

6 12 2009
littlemissmuffin

WOW. I would be proud to stand with Marcus Lloyd. I checked out his artwork, and his theme seems to be “destroy racism.” Good for him!

6 12 2009
DCG

Steve and littlemiss, do you live in FL’s 22nd district? West is running for Congress and is amazing!

6 12 2009
littlemissmuffin

Thanks for the heads up, Deb, but I live in the 12th. Don’t know about Steve or Bob who also live in FL. Our rep is calling it quits (I guess he’s had enough of D.C.), so I hope a good conservative will run.

6 12 2009
giovanniworld

DCG,

This is an awesome video and needs to be seen by others. I’m am forced to put it on a post of it’s own.

People on the left have this stupid impression that we Conservatives will only vote for leaders that are White. We Conservatives will vote for any Man or Woman, regardless of race. The only litmus we have is that the person running is a true Conservative and NOT afraid to do THE RIGHT THING for the people!

Thanks!

Gio-

6 12 2009
Steve

Ginny Brown -Waite is mine and she’s awesome………5th district

6 12 2009
giovanniworld

Steve,

Make sure you have your Dog registered to vote. 😉

Gio-

6 12 2009
Bob in FL

Bill Posey, 15th district. Conservative all the way. I will be sorry to vote him out in 2010 when we sweep the house……:-(

7 12 2009
Steve

Gio…….she already is………twice…….LOL

Leave a Reply

