Obama Speech Open Thread

1 12 2009

Normally I would run away from an Obama speech as fast as my old legs would go, but tonight is different. Tonight is the night that Obama explains how he intends to win the war in Afghanistan, that’s asuming that he wants to win it. My stand on this issue is this… If he doesn’t intend to win this war then bring our boys home NOW! Not one more drop of American blood should be sacrificed if their CIC won’t listen to their Generals. NOT ONE MORE DROP!

This thread is for any/all comments concerning tonights speech.

Actions

Information

36 responses

1 12 2009
Steve

I like his hat……….see I do say positive things now and then………….LOL

1 12 2009
littlemissmuffin

I’m sorry, Gio, but I just cannot listen to him at all anymore about anything. I will have to read about it. Please keep us posted. I know it’s a dirty job, and thank you for listening.

1 12 2009
Eowyn

I feel the same. Can’t bear seeing or hearing him. I’ll read about O’s speech tomorrow.

1 12 2009
DCG

I’m still at work so I can’t listen. Just saw the headline that he ordered an addnl 30K troops but announced withdrawal in 18 months. Um, last time I looked, you don’t give the enemies your game plan…TOOL!

1 12 2009
littlemissmuffin

Why is he sending more troops to die? He doesn’t want to win this war, and sending more troops just puts them into peril. My blood pressure just skyrocketed.

1 12 2009
giovanniworld

Ok folks, I watched the pretender and will give you my impression.

All details will be generalized. That’s my way of saying… “I’m an old fart and can’t remember squat”.

Whoops, BRB.

Gio-

1 12 2009
giovanniworld

I’m back.

Obama spent almost the entire first half of his speech using words like “I” and “My” and “Me” and “I’m” over and over. If that was the entire speech you would have determined that he runs the world. He did the obligatory “I inherited this war” and gave a short background as to how we got to where we are. Even though…. just moments before, he said he would not do that.

The middle of his speech was just as un-impressive as the first part.

Near the end he finally got to the point where he said “he” was sending 30,000 more troops (McChrystal had asked for between 40,000-65,000) and soldiers will start coming home in the summer of 2011 (pretty sweet for the enemy considering they can go back to raising poppies, make lot’s of money, buy lot’s of weapons and ammo, while waiting for our soldiers to go home). He also talked about working diplomatically with the Afghan and Pakistan governments, and he talked about partnering with other coutries to help fight this war. At this point I thought he had stolen one of George Bushes speeches.

He also touched on making the planet free of WMD’s. How the hell he would accomplish that is anyones guess. So basically, he tried to bend over to the far left by telling the enemy our time-table. He tried to bend over for the more moderate center by only sending 30,000. And he tried to bend over for the hawks by sending the 30,000.

I’m really flabergasted… it took him 3 months to come up with this plan???
Send an additional 30,000 soldiers. Give a timeline. Talk to Afghan and Pakistan leaders. Ask other countries to help. THREE FREAKIN MONTHS TO COME UP WITH THAT PLAN!!!???

Gio-

1 12 2009
giovanniworld

Almost forgot…

I heard Obama use the word “Freedom” exactly one time. Not once did I hear the words “Victory” or “Win”.

Gio-

1 12 2009
DCG

In The Traitor’s minds, Victory and Win are spoken only when they refer to destroying the US.

1 12 2009
The Angry White Woman

My little brother just retired (23 yrs) from the ARMY. My oldest brother served in both the USAF and the Marines. My Daddy retired from the USAF. Three uncles served in various branches of the ARMED FORCES and my maternal Grandfather proudly served in the ARMY AIR CORPS during WWI for his adopted country (immigrated from the Acores Islands) and I am a direct descendant (God bless the DAR) of Dr. Benjamin Rush, who left some ink on the DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE a few years back. I WILL NOT let some two bit “playa” tarnish my family’s legacy by rolling over and showing his soft (beige) under belly. And THAT is why I’m Angry.

1 12 2009
littlemissmuffin

Thanks for the recap, Gio. Makes me want to sit down and cry. How can our troops have any morale at all with the coward-in-chief?

1 12 2009
DCG

Send them a care package (not much but it helps). They need us now more than ever…

http://www.anysoldier.com/WhereToSend/

1 12 2009
giovanniworld

DVD’s are some of the most coveted items they get!

Gio-

1 12 2009
littlemissmuffin

Okay, what type DVDs? Maybe comedies to make them laugh? Any other suggestions? I was thinking toiletries and socks after watching the “how to ship” video. Tomorrow is shopping day, so that works out well.

1 12 2009
giovanniworld

missmuffin,

Almost any DVD they get their hands on gets used over and over. Most of them are a good bit younger than I am so I’m clueless as to what they like, but I was told they like DVD’s of some of the more popular TV shows. One that I know is a HUGE HIT is anything with UFC fighters on it.

Gio-

1 12 2009
littlemissmuffin

What are UFC Fighters?

1 12 2009
DCG

Littlemiss…comedies and socks are good. My church group has been doing this for several months so I have plenty if ideas! If you look at the list, they will have specific items listed but greatly appreciate anything. Beef jerky, peanuts, healthy snack bars (no chocolate as it melts), instant coffee packets, dryer sheets, air fresheners, toiletries – razors, cream shaving gels (no aerosols), deodorants, lip balm, soap, toothpaste, dental floss, mouth wash (travel sizes are best). Be sure to wrap all toiletries and air freshener (stinky stuff) and liquids in a ziploc bags so they don’t contaminate other items. Also include sports magazines (or sport sections from the newspaper), or those free car trader magazines at the checkout. or any leftover paperbacks you have around. And candy is always good for stuffing in all the small areas left in your package. Pack it as full as you can since it’s a flat rate shipping charge!

1 12 2009
DCG

Oh, and baby wipes are a GREAT item since many don’t get to shower everyday…

1 12 2009
littlemissmuffin

Thanks, D. I won’t send food and toiletries in the same box, though. I will send a couple of assorted boxes. I’m sure they will share with each other because they are such close knit units.

1 12 2009
DCG

Yup! and the soldiers listed on anysoldier.com are unit leaders asking for specific items for their men/women.

2 12 2009
Eowyn

Excellent summary of O’s speech, Gio!

Here’s my prediction:

In trying to please all political groups – the anti-war rabid Left (with his 2011 timetable), the moderates (by NOT sending McChrystal’s requested 40,000), and the hawks (by sending additional troops) – he will end up offending all groups for this simple reason. No real world results can satisfy every group. This is not how a true leader behaves. Leaders LEAD, not follow or pander or do half-way measures so as not to offend anyone. Some commander-in-chief!

The tragedy is that it’ll be our troops who’ll pay for his dithering and half-hearted measures.

1 12 2009
Dave

I posted this over at NB a few minutes ago, but it fits here as well:

Obama can send 150,000 of our soldiers to Afghanistan, but if there is no 110% commitment to win it as soon as possible and get the hell out, then why bother?

I was 11 years old the day we abandoned our embassy in Saigon. I can still remember sitting on the floor in our den as the choppers lifted off with the handful of those they were able to evacuate.

I can still remember my mother (who lost two of her childhood friends in that war) crying uncontrollably, as well as my dad, a Marine who served five years, most of which was in Korea during the war, cursing like the sailors he had served with during that time.

I remember one of the talking heads mentioning that over 50,000 Americans had died during that conflict, which at the time sounded like a couple of million to me.

In the years that followed, I read everything I could get my hands on concerning that war. I soon came to realize that we had not actually lost, but had, in all reality, won the thing outright, as the Tet Offensive was an utter disaster for the other side – far from the enemy victory the traitorous media had said it was.

Yet we turned tail and ran with victory in sight. We quit.

I just hope we aren’t about to see that sorry episode repeated here, particularly against an enemy that has demonstrated for 14 centuries that they are rather adept at exploiting weakness to the fullest.

-Dave

1 12 2009
giovanniworld

Dave,

Yeah, Obama is a reluctant CIC which is the worst kind to have.

I too remember that feeling, but it was years later before I found out that we pulled out because of politics. Yet we were so close to winning… so sad.

Gio-

1 12 2009
DCG

Dave, I too remember watching that with my dad. He served in Korea (Navy) and was cursing like a sailor. Scared me to death.

Unfortunately, we are deemed to repeat history with this pathetic excuse of a CIC…

1 12 2009
Dave

“Unfortunately, we are deemed to repeat history with this pathetic excuse of a CIC…”

Sad, ain’t it?

-Dave

1 12 2009
giovanniworld

Sad? Down-right dangerous!

This is a guy that wants to make the world a WMD free world, and I’m afraid he’s stupid enough to say to the Russians and Chinese… “C’mon over and watch as we destroy all our Nukes”.
The Russians and Chinese will start packing immediately after they stop laughing so damned hard!

Gio-

2 12 2009
Doc's Wife

I, also remember the end of the war. Unfortunately, I spent part of my college years at an ultra-liberal Methodist school full of war-protestors who refused to bathe–bet they all LOVE Obama! My husband’s brother who we saw during Thanksgiving will be going to Afghanistan w/ this next group,and we are especially worried about him after Barry’sspeech. Didn’t watch it, and my husband won’t talk about it.

2 12 2009
giovanniworld

DW,

If you don’t mind sharing, where does your husband stand politically?

Gio-

3 12 2009
DCG

Prayers for your husband’s brother and his troop while they are in Afghanistan.

2 12 2009
Doc's Wife

My husband is just as conservative as I am. What I meant when I said that my husband wouldn’t talk about it, I meant his brother’s departure. he is now 50yrs. old and he was in Iraq several yrs ago for quite a long time.

2 12 2009
giovanniworld

DW,

Thanks for the explanation. That would subdue anyone.

Please tell your husband that we all suport his Brother and we will say a prayer for him.

Gio-

4 12 2009
bkeyser

Well, this isn’t speech related, but I had to find an Open Thread to ask this question: Can anyone explain this photos linked below? There has been an interesting discussion on NewsBusters today about a headline in New York Magazine’s “The Cut” blog claiming that Michelle Obama wore clothes to light the WH Christmas Tree. As you can imagine, everyone was quite pleased with that revelation. However, I found a photo, and another commentor found a different photo that emphasizes just how thrilled we should ALL be that Michelle was, in fact, clothed for the occasion. So, back to my question- Can anyone explain these?

Photo 1
Photo 2

By the way, I have been known to put my own touches on a photo or two, but I solemnly swear, to my knowledge these are not retouched (other than the arrow in Photo 1).

4 12 2009
Eowyn

Why does Michelle Obama have such strange LUMPS under her clothes?

4 12 2009
littlemissmuffin

b: I saw that headline and it was hilarious! Now concerning those two pics, all I can say is hmmmmmmmmm……….

4 12 2009
giovanniworld

Whoah, could the president be married to a woman that carries a set of parts from the male and female gender?

This does dovetail into something I have been wondering about for quite sometime. I have seen pictures of Michele from her College years and my personal impression was… “that’s one ugly young woman”, yet she seems to have magically turned into someone else over the years. Could hormone treatments etc be helping her to look more womanly?

Gio-

15 11 2014
Openuksa

В разные периоды после достижения половой зрелости в сексуальности также происходят изменения. Однако было бы неправильно утверждать, что сексуальность появляется внезапно, возникает «на пустом месте» – не имеет предшествующей истории, начальных фаз развития. Такое предположение противоречит как здравому смыслу, так и данным научных исследований, в том числе и психоаналитического направления.

Leave a Reply

