Weekend Open Thread

14 11 2009

baby bunny

Many of the regulars on Giovanni’s World are experiencing major burnout and just plain war weariness.

As examples, Steve had something of a meltdown a few days ago and is taking a sabbatical. I’m dealing with repetitive strain injuries from being at the computer all day, every day. Getting a better chair and switching to a laptop help just a little. I’m also emotionally burnt out from seeing and processing negative news every day.

We are the war wounded, albeit our war is not fought with guns and bullets. How terrible it is that our enemy is our own government!

The problem is this: Satan never sleeps. We all know too well that Obama and the Left don’t give up.

So, I’d like us to use this Open Thread to do some brainstorming:

  • Are you also feeling burnout? Tell us about it!
  • What do you suggest as a palliative or coping strategy?

~Eowyn

Actions

Information

26 responses

14 11 2009
Steve

test

14 11 2009
Steve

test dog cat woof

14 11 2009
Eowyn

Your cat goes “woof”? Some cat you have, Steve! LOL

14 11 2009
Steve

test woof 2

14 11 2009
Steve

My gold fish say meow…………. and my new, believe it or not I’m waiting for a cockerdoodle puppy ,10 weeks old any minute to arrive..this Sabbatical is good.

14 11 2009
NoFancyName

THAT is the cutest little bunny picture that I think I’ve ever seen!

Gio- It’s not the laptop, per se, that you need to reduce the repetitive strain injury/carpal tunnel syndrome of typing – it’s lowering the keyboard to the height of resting it on your knees so that your hands are lower than your elbows and not cocked upward at the wrists as when typing upon a desk. A REAL “typing desk” has a dropped section to lower the keyboard (“typewriter”- when I took personal typing in High School) to maintain the proper ergonomic wrist orientation.

The Era of “computer keyboard on top of the desk” that just happens to be there (and is the correct height for writing with pen and paper) has injured innumerable people.

14 11 2009
Eowyn

Thanks, NoFancyName! 🙂

14 11 2009
DCG

I truly despise The Traitor and especially his disrespect for our troops. I recently decided to help our troops in any way…I adopted a soldier from Soldiers’ Angels and joined a group at my church where we prepare care packages once a week for soldiers. We’ve received a couple notes back from soldiers…one in particulary from the USS Nimitz. They were so thrilled with everything and the gentleman found a use for everything we sent and shared with all aboard that he could. These has helped me to feel better about the state of affairs with this commie in chief…God knows the troops need us now more than ever! (I’m not tooting my horn here…just sharing my way of how to help/cope with this CIC)

14 11 2009
Eowyn

What a wonderful idea, Debbie! I will definitely look into joining Soldiers’ Angels.

http://soldiersangels.org/

14 11 2009
Doc's Wife

Soldier’s Angels sounds like something my husband and I will definitely be interested in doing! Also our family does Toys for Tots which is especially important in our mountain counties where there are so many less fortunate than we are!

14 11 2009
grannywithapitchfotk

Here’s another idea that I picked up somewhere. http://www.anysoldier.com/WhereToSend/

I was going to mention something I just read but decided to postpone it for another time. This isn’t the time or the place to mention his name.

I can’t throw things to let off steam because of my fracture so I walk my dog, eat Skittles, eat chocolate when I have it, and fight with Cecil.

Okay, I won’t mention his name, but did you see the bow?????!!!!!????? Sorry.

Love

Granny

14 11 2009
DCG

Thank you Granny for this site. This is exactly what my church group needs in order to send out as many care packages as possible!

Yeah, saw the bow…he gives me a reason every day to despise him even more…

14 11 2009
Doc's Wife

Apparently, it wasn’t even the proper bow for that culture—He knows NOTHING!!

14 11 2009
Bob

Hi all, yyyee yyeessss burnout is a problem. I don’t think mine is as bad as Steve’s, but did have to back off a bit. To cope, I go out and do yard work.

I will check out the sites and suggestions mentioned here.

Missed the bow.

Heard from someone today that there was a standoff or something at the High School I went to back in the 70’s, am still trying to find the story online somewhere.

God Bless All.

14 11 2009
littlemissmuffin

“2010” by Lloyd Marcus:

14 11 2009
littlemissmuffin

I’m actually taking today and tomorrow off to rest, recuperate, and enjoy family and friends. Just wanted to share the video above.

14 11 2009
Deirdre

Yes, burnout hit here when Nancy passed her healthcare bill, sometimes it feels like I’m banging my head against a wall and marching on DC didn’t help, making the phone calls didn’t help and going to the tea parties did nothng, but.. I figure someday I’ll be able to tell my kids I did everything I could to try and stop what’s happening.
I usually turn off the news for a few days to re group and then I jump right back into the mess.

14 11 2009
Kathyd

I turn the news off and watch Spongebob with my kids.

14 11 2009
Cec Moon

Please don’t any of you take these remarks personally. I love you all and would not intentionally hurt any of you.

On occasion I am tempted to chuck the whole thing (blog, politics, a-holes in government, etc.) and live under a rock. The factors which bring me back to reality are two-fold. First and foremost are my twenty grand kids. My greatest desire is for them to enjoy the greatest country in the world as I have been privileged to do. What they do with it is up to them and not the government.

Secondly, I think about the guys who are currently giving up huge blocks of time, freedom, comfort, and safety to keep my sorry butt safe. Serving in the armed forces is often celebrated as “hurry up and wait.” The reality is it often involves sleeping in hidey holes, dragging ever increasing amounts of equipment constantly, being periodically scared out of your shorts, and being in the proximity of folks who are dedicated to seeing you dead. When the patrol moves out it does so indifferent to whether it’s your 5th day on duty or your 55th or more. You are on duty 24/7/52 and responsible for not only yourself but your buddies as well.

When the s**t hits the fan you can’t opt out for a little R & R. Everything you learned about tactics and traditional warfare went out the window when you got in theater and found out your enemy dressed in civies, hid among women and children, and used every cowardly trick in the book to hurt you.

These two factors, in concert, keep me plugging away to fight the only battle I am now able to conduct. I pray daily that God will provide the strength and additional years to keep me in the fray. I will also confess that He gives me an occasional nudge to keep me at it.

if not we, who then?

15 11 2009
giovanniworld

Cec,

“if not we, who then?”

Exactly! Our young men and women in uniform are doing their job, it is left to us to make sure they come home to an America they can believe in. They do their job for their offsprings future, we must do what is needed for ours.

Sure we find ourselves getting worn down, but we must find ways to re-charge our batteries and do what we must. We simply have no choice! We cannot allow the Marxist masters to take this country by using our own political system against us.

We are Americans by God and we must defend the homeland from within and without, and we must do so without fear.

Gio-

15 11 2009
bkeyser

I, for one, will never give up.

And Gio, here’s one I didn’t send over today- the one and only, President Obowma: http://tinyurl.com/yhkp6v8

15 11 2009
Eowyn

Perhaps this thread is misunderstood.

Who is talking about “giving up”?

I originally had asked for suggestions to combat burnout, fatigue, my repetitive strain injuries from being at my desktop computer all day, every day — all REAL problems that, though not comparable to what our soldiers endure in the battlefield, are nevertheless problems.

Geesh….

15 11 2009
Jess

For myself, sometimes I have to just step back a bit from the news, whether for a few hours or a few days. Usually when I’m frazzled by the whole situation, I know I’ve gotten things out of balance – too much news and not enough prayer.
I also usually retreat to a favorite book – any Jane Austen, C.S. Lewis, Father Elijah (by Michael O’Brien), The Way of a Pilgrim (anon. Russian Orthodox book on prayer), Ideas Have Consequences (Richard Weaver) … the list could go on and on!
Sometimes we all have to step back and recharge, so that we can keep up the fight.

15 11 2009
Jess

I first read this just a couple of days ago ( I had never heard of these guys before this post got linked at a conservative blog), and it definitely gave me hope:

http://hillbuzz.org/2009/11/10/thank-you-former-president-george-w-bush-and-former-first-lady-laura-bush/

15 11 2009
giovanniworld

Jess,

Will wonders never cease.

That’s good enough to get it’s own posting.

Gio-

30 06 2010
FashionWomen

Truly does a person grasp if the idea could very well be valid that a majority of prostate vibrators prevent prostate cancer?

Leave a Reply

