Give Up Meat?

27 10 2009

Just looking at this pic makes me hungry.I don’t care what this clown says, I am NOT giving up my meat. And if this guy continues to push for a meat free world I will track him down, gut him, and then roast him over a fire pit. This would be a real Pig-Pickin! (most of you Southeners know what I’m talking about)

Gio-

Climate chief Lord Stern: give up meat to save the planet

People will need to turn vegetarian if the world is to conquer climate change, according to a leading authority on global warming.

In an interview with The Times, Lord Stern of Brentford said: “Meat is a wasteful use of water and creates a lot of greenhouse gases. It puts enormous pressure on the world’s resources. A vegetarian diet is better.”

Direct emissions of methane from cows and pigs is a significant source of greenhouse gases. Methane is 23 times more powerful than carbon dioxide as a global warming gas.

Lord Stern, the author of the influential 2006 Stern Review on the cost of tackling global warming, said that a successful deal at the Climate Change Conference in Copenhagen in December would lead to soaring costs for meat and other foods that generate large quantities of greenhouse gases.

He predicted that people’s attitudes would evolve until meat eating became unacceptable. “I think it’s important that people think about what they are doing and that includes what they are eating,” he said. “I am 61 now and attitudes towards drinking and driving have changed radically since I was a student. People change their notion of what is responsible. They will increasingly ask about the carbon content of their food.”

Lord Stern, a former chief economist of the World Bank and now I. G. Patel Professor of Economics at the London School of Economics, warned that British taxpayers would need to contribute about £3 billion a year by 2015 to help poor countries to cope with the inevitable impact of climate change.

He also issued a clear message to President Obama that he must attend the meeting in Copenhagen in person in order for an effective deal to be reached. US leadership, he said, was “desperately needed” to secure a deal.

He said that he was deeply concerned that popular opinion had so far failed to grasp the scale of the changes needed to address climate change, or of the importance of the UN meeting in Copenhagen from December 7 to December 18. “I am not sure that people fully understand what we are talking about or the kind of changes that will be necessary,” he added.

Up to 20,000 delegates from 192 countries are due to attend the UN conference in the Danish capital. Its aim is to forge a deal to reduce greenhouse gas emissions sufficiently to prevent an increase in global temperatures of more than 2 degrees centigrade. Any increase above this level is expected to trigger runaway climate change, threatening the lives of hundreds of millions of people.

Lord Stern said that Copenhagen presented a unique opportunity for the world to break free from its catastrophic current trajectory. He said that the world needed to agree to halve global greenhouse gas emissions by 2030 to 25 gigatonnes a year from the current level of 50 gigatonnes.

UN figures suggest that meat production is responsible for about 18 per cent of global carbon emissions, including the destruction of forest land for cattle ranching and the production of animal feeds such as soy.

Lord Stern, who said that he was not a strict vegetarian himself, was speaking on the eve of an all-parliamentary debate on climate change. His remarks provoked anger from the meat industry.

Jonathan Scurlock, of the National Farmers Union, said: “Going vegetarian is not a worldwide solution. It’s not a view shared by the NFU. Farmers in this country are interested in evidence-based policymaking. We don’t have a methane-free cow or pig available to us.”

On average, a British person eats 50g of protein derived from meat each day — the equivalent of a chicken breast or a lamb chop. This is a relatively low level for a wealthy country but between 25 per cent and 50 per cent higher than the amount recommended by the World Health Organisation.

Su Taylor, a spokeswoman for the Vegetarian Society, welcomed Lord Stern’s remarks. “What we choose to eat is one of the biggest factors in our personal impact on the environment,” she said. “Meat uses up a lot of resources and a vegetarian diet consumes a lot less land and water. One of the best things you can do about climate change is reduce the amount of meat in your diet.”

The UN has warned that meat consumption is on course to double by the middle of the century.

//

Actions

Information

32 responses

27 10 2009
grannywithapitchfotk

Now the Spirit speaketh expressly, that in the latter times some shall depart from the faith, giving heed to seducing spirits, and doctrines of devils: Speaking lies in hypocrisy; having their conscience seared with a hot iron; forbidding to marry, and commanding to abstain from meats, which God hath created to be received with thanksgiving of them which believe and know the truth. For every creature of God is good, and nothing to be refused, if it be received with thanksgiving. 1 Timothy 4:1-4

Love

Granny

27 10 2009
Bob

Granny,

My thought exactly.
I’m not profiscient at finding the applicable scripture but do remember reading it.
Great work.

God Bless You!

🙂 Bob

28 10 2009
Dave

Thanks, Granny.

I had forgotten about that.

Think I’ll post that over at the Notepad.

-Dave

27 10 2009
bkeyser

What countries produce and export the most beef, pork, and poultry? Anyone know?

OT: Gio? I’m trying to come up with a Conservative logo. I did this one: http://www.flickr.com/photos/37395403@N05/4051018900 as a starter, but I’m looking for ideas in the way of themes, shapes, and potentially content. The one I did is pretty run-of-the-mill; basically what you’d expect (I think) and lacking some artsy creativity. So if you’ve got any suggestions, or could ask the regulars here for input, I’d appreciate it. (If not- no problem.) Right now I’m kind of drawing a blank, so to speak.

27 10 2009
Bob

Bob, Great logo. my input-a flag in the background maybe? Flying like on a staff,behind the eagle.

27 10 2009
DCG

Bkeyser – like it. Ditto what Bob said re: the American flag. Tag line – strong proud united…what about United for America? or United for Freedom? I like the word freedom in there somewhere. my two cents…

27 10 2009
Bob

? United Free America?
two more cents…

28 10 2009
Steve

bkeyser, Love it..man you have some talent. I think the flag also. How about something like. ‘Concervatives. America’s True values. Or America wakes the sleeping Giant….something like that.

28 10 2009
bkeyser

Thanks all. Good ideas. I’ll see what I can come up with and update you.

28 10 2009
Bob

Bob,

Photo #2 is looking excellent! Great work!

🙂 Bob.

28 10 2009
Steve

bkeyser……the 2nd one is AWSOME!!!! I think your on to something. I don’t know where I heard it the other day, but some poll had people identifying with Conservatives at 40% Dems 30 % GOP 25 and Indys at about 15% The GOP is doomed. People want Good old fashined Mom and apple pie and the Constitution
PS you need to copyright that……or what ever it is you do, cause that’s our new flag to rally with and I’d be proud to be the standard bearer of such a work of art……Steve

28 10 2009
bkeyser

Thanks guys. BTW, there’s 56 stars on this logo…

28 10 2009
Steve

bkeyser……….OK, did not count…..That is truly very funny…… 😉

28 10 2009
Eowyn

bkeyser,

Gosh, you’re seriously talented! That eagle is regal, awesome!

I agree with the suggestions made here:

We need the flag and the word “Freedom!”

28 10 2009
grannywithapitchfotk

Freedom. Yes. Great logo—56 stars and all. It’s really beautiful. Thanks, bkeyser.

Granny

28 10 2009
giovanniworld

Bob,

That’s not a bad start. I like it but have one suggestion… it needs a little blue color in it. For the moment thats all I got.

Gio-

28 10 2009
bkeyser
28 10 2009
littlemissmuffin

bkeyser: That’s just wonderful. Cec will definitely download that picture. He’s a true fan of Sarah Palin. Sarah has been attacked so much, it’s really nice to see something that promotes her. Well done!

28 10 2009
Eowyn

WONDERFUL!

27 10 2009
Bob

Gio,
I’m with you buddy!!!
The U.N. and Obama want the U.S. to pay for the entire world’s impact on the climate. Third world country’s are like they are because of rampant corruption in their gov’ts, over population by people who can’t support themselves, and a history way older than the U.S. has been in existence whereby they have depleted many of their own resources without consideration of the impact.
Many of the “vegetarians” I know and have met, quite honestly, look sickly to me. If our nation went meatless we wouldn’t have the strength to defend ourselves. I wonder what the impact of harvesting Saw Palmetto used in herbal supplements is? I watch every year as workers drive around in beat up old pickup trucks with engines idling as they trespass to collect garbage cans full. (btw- they’re shipped to england for processing). The vegetarians I know take dozens of supplements a day to maintain their health.
I agree that we could do better about how we use natural resources to decrease the effect on the environment, and be better shephards of the earth God gave us, but, our technology and engineering began across the Atlantic and Pacific oceans, we just ran with it once it got here.
We should all be like Texas, where it is illegal to bad mouth the cattle industry as Oprah found out!!!

Bob

28 10 2009
Dave

I currently have four Webers parked out back (and not one of them has a knob anywhere on it, either).

I’ll give them up, along with the meat I live to cook on them, when the blue helmets show up, surround my home, and shoot me into hamburger.

I’ll take as many of them with me as I can. 🙂

-Dave

28 10 2009
Dave

BTW-What Dave wants for Christmas:

http://www.weber.com/grills/?glid=6&mid=32

🙂

-Dave

28 10 2009
Steve

Oh, by the way… did you know that co2 makes up I believe maybe 3 % of our atmosphere. And out of that 3 % we are responsible for adding maybe 3 % of the 3 % into the atmosphere. We are talking such a miniscule amount that I believe if we just served and apple in Lord fancy pants mouth before we served him that would solve the problem….. 😉

28 10 2009
Doc's Wife

Wonder how much gas humans would produce eating all those vegetables! Are they going to come after human gas producers next? Sorry for the somewhat crude thoughts!

28 10 2009
bkeyser

Add that to all the extra bovine on the planet and geeze! it’ll be cold, but damn if it won’t be offensive!

28 10 2009
Steve

Doc’s wife………..your a genius. What we do is pool our money and corner the market on “Beeno”…We could sell it on the black market to people who have gone over their quota. Kinda like cap-n-trade. we’ll be so stinking rich then we won’t have to play by the rules either. I nominate Doc’s Wife for Next Years Noble Peace Price in “Peace” , “Biology”, Physics”, “Economics” “Medicine” and what the hell what ever else they have.
All in favor say Aye…………Aye!!!

28 10 2009
Tom in NC

Aye!

I’m also in favor of using corks on liberals, so this might want to stay away from the cabbage and brussel sprouts and other gas producing veggies, otherwise they may give “hot air balloons” a whole new meaning.

28 10 2009
giovanniworld

Beeno-Beeno-Beeno!

Aye!

Gio-

28 10 2009
littlemissmuffin

Nice work, bkeyser. Second logo is right on target! Thanks for all your effort.

28 10 2009
grannywithapitchfotk

I did the vegetarian thing for about a year four years ago. Was influenced by a bunch of animal rescuers when I went to LA after Katrina. The entire time I was off meat I CRAVED it! They say that many vegetarians, my daughter included, develop a distaste for it eventually. Man, am I glad I found the Bible passage in 1 Tim. Gave me an excellent reason to come back to sanity. God is good.

Love

Granny

28 10 2009
velenda

Show me the BEEF……….pork………… chicken……… Show me the MEAT

28 10 2009
Kathyd

Perhaps they’ll make our new country’s mascot the Chick Fil A cow. “Eat More Chiken”. Sheesh.

Leave a Reply

