Conservatism Makes A Comeback

26 10 2009

ff_su_small_tparty_avatar_editedEowyn has just posted on the very same subject here (GOP is Suicidal), and a darn good post if you ask me. We normally try not to do this to each other, or our readers, but I’m making an exception on this particular subject because I have been thinking about it all day and want to put my thoughts down for prosperity.

My first thought has to do with Newt Gingrich. I have finally reached a point where I no longer want Newt as an un-elected leader/spokesperson for Conservatism. He can go on and on all he wants for the Republican Party, but I do not want him confusing the Republican Party with Conservatism in any way. Newt may be smart, and he may be a nice guy, but his constant push for the “Big Tent” has turned me away from whatever he’s selling.

For me, it started a two or three years ago when he was taking part in a debate about Global Warming at some University in the South. I forget all the details, but he spent a good deal of time agreeing with Albert Gore. That debate opened my eyes to the real Mr. Gingrich. Although I have heard him explain, over and over about how the GOP needs to be more flexible, yada-yada-yada-big tent-yada-yada-yada, I never took him serious. Knowing he’s a smart guy, I figured he knew what he was doing. Geeez, was I wrong or what?!

So here’s my message to Newt…

   Dear Newt,

There is a direct correlation between the “Big Tent” push in the GOP and the horrible mess that the party is in. However, as each day goes by, it seems to me that Conservatism is slowly being pushed out of the tent. Big mistake!

Conservatism is making a comeback. More accurately, it’s making a roaring comeback. If you don’t believe me just check out how many people showed-up in D.C. on 9/12. That huge crowd had Democrats, Republicans, Independents, and a little bit of everything representing those fired-up citizens. What drove those people to D.C. was an anger and frustration at our countries leaders that are digging a grave for the USA, and to top it off, the politicians want the citizens to pay for the shovels. Most of the 1.5 million people at that protest were there to support Conservative values, NOT a party! But for some odd reason you want to ignore this political oddity. The GOP no longer wants or even tries to promote Conservative values.

To me, it seems as if the Republican Party simply plays defense on every issue, never wanting to make waves or make anyone ‘uncomfortable’ by being in the forefront of a battle. If the “Big Tent” is so inclusive, then why are Conservatives Like Tim Pawlenty and Sarah Palin endorsing the Independent guy Doug Hoffman (who is now a member of the “Conservative Party”)? Let me answer this for you… because he’s a real Conservative. The competition, a woman calling herself a Republican is a Liberal and does NOT belong in the GOP. If she was a Conservative Republican she could have easily gotten the nod from some Conservative GOP leaders, but she’s not even close. 

A final thought… There is a paradigm shift happening in the political landscape of America and it seems to be scaring the crap out of the Country Club Republicans. Because we are losing this country so fast, we have no choice but to take a stand. And every day that goes by see’s more and more people wanting to preserve the values and the respect this great nation deserves. These people are waking up and willing to take a stand to help save this country. The people are wanting to save and protect Conservative values and principles, so if the politicians in the Republican Party can’t get behind the movement, then please… move to the end of the line, we will take it from here!

Gio-

Star Tribune Online

Pawlenty endorses Conservative Party candidate in NY election

Minnesota Gov. Tim Pawlenty waded into the politics of a New York special election for the U.S. House Monday by endorsing a Conservative Party candidate over the Republican candidate.

In a statement endorsing Conservatives’ Doug Hoffman over GOP Assemblywoman DeDe Scozzafava, Pawlenty said, “We cannot send more politicians to Washington who wear the Republican jersey on the campaign trail, but then vote like Democrats in Congress.”

The New York race has caused schisms within the party, with high profile Republican forces aligning on both sides.

Pawlenty’s involvement in the election far from Minnesota’s borders comes as the governor, who is not running for a third term, has been traveling the country and appearing to lay the groundwork for a 2012 presidential bid.

RACHEL E. STASSEN-BERGER

Actions

Information

10 responses

26 10 2009
Eowyn

Excellent letter to Newt, Gio!

To be honest, I lost all regard for Newt even before now. It was when I read that he told his then-wife he wanted a divorce while she was sick in the hospital. He was already involved in an adulterous affair.

Many years ago, I had an epiphany: Intelligence is greatly over-rated. Character is more important. Neither Hitler, nor Lenin, nor Stalin, nor Mao was stupid. Nor is Obama. In fact, there’s nothing more dangerous than intelligence + bad character!

It was a humble sweet woman, the department secretary at the university in which I was teaching, who made me realize that. She was no great brains, probably had an average IQ at best, but I’d much prefer her company than all the smart faculty on campus.

26 10 2009
Bob

Great letter Gio. Can’t say I ever liked Gingrich, maybe ’cause his first name is Newt. Newts are lizards that live in the dark. And, I remember the story Eowyn related about his wife.
Don’t get me wrong, there are many lizards I like, we have a native species here in florida that I protect around my house….They eat bugs! LOL

27 10 2009
Steve

Bob…….My son catches them and gets them to hang on his ear, with their mouth…..cool. He’s our official lizard catcher in the house. It’s amazing.they are not afraid of him…he just has a way with them and then he turns them over and rubs their bellies and they’re in love. I’m just a little NW of Tampa.
Steve

27 10 2009
Bob

Steve,
My kids did the same thing, They’re all out of the house now so it’s up to me to keep them friendly……LOL
I’m in S. Brevard, basically due east of you and Miss muffin. I use Sebastian Inlet to go out fishing in God’s country. 🙂

27 10 2009
Steve

Bob, I’m glad I’m not the only one with a crazy kid……LOL…..sound like some beautiful fishing………. 😉
Steve

27 10 2009
littlemissmuffin

We protect the little lizards at our house, too. I just can’t abide the spiders, though. We are halfway between Tampa and Orlando.

I liked Newt until he changed his mind and agreed with the first bailout under Bush. Seems like he’s forgotten what “conservatism” means. Why don’t people realize that Republican does NOT equal Conservative? I didn’t know he did that to his wife! What a role model he is. /sarc

27 10 2009
Doc's Wife

I’m totally confused on the subject of Newt and the New York election. I disagreed totally w/ him until I heard his reasoning on Greta last night–now I do’t know who to believe. He also said that the conservative candidate doesn’t even live in the district. I’m just afraid the split w/ only get Barry re-elected again, and then the country as we know it will be OVER!!!!

27 10 2009
Eowyn

Doc’s Wife,

That’s the kind of fear tactic the GOP’s RINOs have always used:

You must vote for the Republican candidate, or you’d split the vote and elect a Democrat!! Yada yada yada.

And conservatives fall for it every time. Don’t you think it’s time we revolt? If we don’t, the GOP will NEVER ever change, and we’re stuck in the same place — or worse.

The economy began tanking under George W. Bush, a fake conservative with his massive deficit spending. And because he’s nominally a Republican, the Repubs in Congress just went along with everything.

I’m sick of RINOs: Country Club Republicans, liberals wolves-in-sheep-clothing Republicans. If the GOP does not straighten itself out in these dire conditions today, then it’ll never be a truly conservative party.

27 10 2009
Dave

If Newt thinks Sarah Palin stomping on his nads last week hurt, wait ’til she pops him with her RINO gun. 🙂

-Dave

27 10 2009
giovanniworld

LOL…

Gio-

Leave a Reply

