Two Worlds One Country

24 10 2009

signworSeeming to be the norm for me, I was looking for something else when I accidently found a blog of interest (accidents seem to happen that way). The only reason I even stopped at the blog was because of the name… “Mills River Progressive”. Mills River is an area here in the Blue Ridge Mountains that I know quite well. Not only do I know people who live there, it also happens to be where my Attorney hangs out his shingle. Brief historical note: There was once a small Gold mine in Mills River (very small).

Ok, now that you know why it caught my attention, let me make a few comments about the headline I used… We Conservatives tend to use a healthy mix of common sense, facts, and wisdom, to decide which side of an argument we come down on. Liberals however, tend to lean heavily on ’emotions’ and erratic logic, or what I like to call “Opp-Logic” (opposite of logic). They also have a funny way of supporting their arguments with anything that bolsters the case in their favor, and it never seems to matter if the info is a complete fabrication and proven to be the biggest lie in the history of mankind.

Knowing that Liberals and Conservatives are nothing like each other, it makes one wonder what our future will look like if we don’t come to some sort of understanding. Speaking for myself… I can get along with Liberals just fine, under one condition. Do NOT mock my way of life or religion, or try to change my way of life or religion. It really is just that easy, at least for me. As an example… My general attitude about Gays or Lesbians is this… What you do as consenting adults behind locked doors is your business and I will NOT try to interfere. However, once you start to push what you do as normal and want homosexuality to be treated as moral activity, I no longer respect your privacy.

One more glaring example is posted in all its glory from the above mentioned blog. I watched a short video that was posted on the blog by the blog owner and then commented. First read my comment. Then read the blog owners response to me. It’s obvious from the comments we both posted, that we are from two completely different worlds. Here’s the problem… Not only do we live in the same country, we live in the same state. In fact, we live in neighboring towns.

If most Conservatives are generally like me, and most Liberals are generally like this woman, how in the hell can we share a productive life of freedom? Should we honestly think of some sort of division of the country so we can stay focused on the future and quit the stupid bickering? I know this sounds a little crazy, but I am dead serious!

Gio-

 

giovanniworld said…

That video about the public option is terrible in so many ways.If the administration was serious about competition they could write a bill only 5 pages long and involve only one subject… competition.There are over 1,300 health insurance companies in the USA. If the government made sure they could all compete in all states the debate would end and everyone would get what they want, except the administration, they would not get the power they seek!

10:51 PM 

 Anna Van Z said…
OMG. Honey, please – get some treatment for that cognitive collapse disorder – it’s amazing what they can do for folks now.
Oh wait – sorry! None of those 1300 companies you referred to will pay for the treatment! Sorry, guess you’re fucked. Too bad.
But you just go ahead and keep being a brainwashed tool of corporate America, like a good little robo-consumer. Keep reciting those nonsensical Faux News talking points, darlin’! Probably the millions of American idiots out there will think you sound smart.2:44 AM 
Actions

Information

25 responses

24 10 2009
jocaasbe

In your post you said “I can get along with Liberals just fine, under one condition. Do NOT mock my way of life or religion, or try to change my way of life or religion. It really is just that easy, at least for me.”

I agree. It made me think of this little piece.

The Difference Between A Conservative And A Liberal

If a conservative doesn’t like guns, he doesn`t buy one.
If a liberal doesn’t like guns, he wants all guns outlawed.

If a conservative is a vegetarian, he doesn`t eat meat.
If a liberal is a vegetarian, he wants all meat products banned for everyone.

If a conservative sees a foreign threat, he thinks about how to defeat his enemy.
A liberal wonders how to surrender gracefully and still look good.

If a conservative is homosexual, he quietly leads his life.
If a liberal is homosexual, he demands legislated respect.

If a black man or Hispanic are conservative, they see themselves as independently successful.
Their liberal counterparts see themselves as victims in need of government protection.

If a conservative is down-and-out, he thinks about how to better his situation.
A liberal wonders who is going to take care of him.

If a conservative doesn’t like a talk show host, he switches channels.
Liberals demand that those they don’t like be shut down.

If a conservative is a non-believer, he doesn’t go to church.
A liberal non-believer wants any mention of God and religion silenced. (Unless it’s a non Judeo-Christian religion, of course!)

If a conservative decides he needs health care, he goes about shopping for it, or may choose a job that provides it.
A liberal demands that the rest of us pay for his.

If a conservative slips and falls in a store, he gets up, laughs and is embarrassed.
If a liberal slips and falls, he grabs his neck, moans like he’s in labor and then sues.

If a conservative reads this, he’ll enjoy it and have a good laugh.
A liberal will hyperventalate because he’s “offended”.

I am enjoying your thoughts very much.
Keep up the good work.

24 10 2009
giovanniworld

Thanks jocaasbe,

I enjoyed your Con vs Lib comparisons. This whole issue grates on a pet peeve of mine. I moved to the Blue Ridge mountains of Western North Carolina over 20 years ago because I loved the people and the natural gifts from God we call nature. The native mountain folks were, and still are, very simple people. They know how to live from the land without disturbing the balance of the natural surroundings. I could go on and on about their character traits and why I love them so much, but I must get on with my story…

Too many times to count, I have seen others like myself move here to these mountains because of the sheer beauty of the area. They will tell you that they moved here because they love the people, the traditions, and the abundance of outdoor activities available to them. The main difference between them and myself is a simple one… give them 15 months of living here and they suddenly want to have things “their way”. Yep, all they can talk about is changing things. And every damn time they do so they end up pissing off the locals they claimed to have loved so much, decide that the traditions they claimed to have loved so much, need changing, and through their actions end up having outdoor activities get more restrictive every year that goes by.

To put it simply… they move here to get away from the way they used to live. Only to come here and want to change everything here so it resembles where they used to live. Liberals are insane!

Gio-

24 10 2009
Kathyd

jocaasbe:

Wonderful post in response to gio’s blog. Hope you don’t mind if I borrow this! I just read it to my husband (as he watches LSU/Auburn). He actually stopped watching the game and laughed with me.

Gio:

You’re right. It doesn’t matter what we say. Liberals can hear nothing more than what comes out of their own mouths.

24 10 2009
giovanniworld

Kathy,

So how do we break this log-jam?

Gio-

24 10 2009
littlemissmuffin

jocaasbe: What an excellent post! I hope you don’t mind if I copy and paste into an email to my family and friends? Is this your first post on Gio’s? If so, welcome.

24 10 2009
OrangeNeckInNY

Gio,

I said the same thing about immigrants. They left their country to come here for freedom. Once here, they try to change America into what they left. Immigrants and Liberals are both insane!

24 10 2009
giovanniworld

ONINY,

I’m split on the immigrants wanting to change things. I have seen more than enough immigrants in my life to say with confidence… maybe half and half is closer to the truth. Some immigrants come here and embrace the American way of life, while others just never quite seem to get the hang of it. And, it’s hard for me to dump on immigrants when we are a nation of immigrants.

If you want to claim the LIBERAL immigrants are insane, I’m with you. Otherwise, I give immigrants a bit of a pass. Whooops, there is one caveat… ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS HAVE NO SAY IN OUR AFFAIRS. In fact, the only thing I want to hear from an illegal immigrant is… “Goodbye”.

Gio-

24 10 2009
Eowyn

Being an immigrant (legal!) myself, I agree with Gio.

But I also see Orange Neck’s point. I too don’t understand immigrants who come to the United States but insist not only on retaining their original language and culture, but glorifying them as superior to America’s.

Why did they come here in the first place? [scratch head]

15 01 2010
Jen

I don’t think the first poster is being fair in comparing immigrants to liberals. For one thing most immigrants tend to be conservatives…. at least in my experience. And if immigrants do want to change things this is only because they are immigrants…. it would have to be in your blood a little…. otherwise you would never have left your country. Most immigrants, however, are not very proactive in American politics they are just happy to be here and are busy establishing themselves and adjusting to cultural differences. I am an immigrant… I am white… a conservative… upper middle class…..but most of all I AM one of many immigrants who despise these types of comments made by people who don’t really have a clue about immigrants.

15 01 2010
Jen

I don’t think the first poster is being fair in comparing immigrants to liberals. For one thing most immigrants tend to be conservatives…. at least in my experience. And if immigrants do want to change things this is only because they are immigrants…. it would have to be in your blood a little…. otherwise you would never have left your country. Most immigrants, however, are not very proactive in American politics they are just happy to be here and are busy establishing themselves and adjusting to cultural differences. I am an immigrant… I am white… a conservative… upper middle class…..but most of all I AM one of many immigrants who despise these types of comments made by people who don’t really have a clue about immigrants.

Immigrants that insist on teaching their children their language are very smart…. they are insuring that their children will be well educated with more job opportunities…. how can you criticize such foresight?

24 10 2009
Bob

jocaasbe,
Excellent comparisons! Waiting to find out if it is OK to copy for an email?

I agree with Gio, on the immigrant situation, and people do the same thing when they move here in rural Florida.

24 10 2009
giovanniworld

Bob,

If it’s posted here publicly, it’s Ok for you to copy.

Gio-

25 10 2009
Bob

Thank you Gio.

25 10 2009
jocaasbe

I’m glad you all liked the post. It is something that was sent to me by e-mail and I then posted it on my site. It is public. If you’d like to use it or expound on it, please do. The truth is a good thing.

25 10 2009
Eowyn

jocaasbe,

That’s an excellent liberal-conservative compare-&-contrast list!

What I see as the core or root difference that accounts for all the contrasts between libs and conservatives, is that the Left disapprove/hate the very fundamental arrangement (principles, ideals, institutions) of classical America. So they aim at transforming everything. Whereas conservatives are content with what used to be the status quo.

In that regard, conservatives are like the Ents in JRR Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings — content with their lives, slow to anger and, unfortunately, also slow to realize that the America we love has been usurped by the Left as they systematically chiseled away, compromised, and corrupted EVERY institution in American society.

I just hope that, now that conservatives have finally awaken, we’d be like the Ents who finally went to war to retake Middle-Earth America from the ObamaOrcs!

25 10 2009
Bob

Eowyn,
Do you think Obama is Sauron or Saruman?

25 10 2009
Eowyn

Saruman or perhaps someone even lesser, like Wormtongue?!

We both know who’s behind Obama, who Sauron is! 😉

25 10 2009
Bob

Obama has dozens of Wormtongues, (czars)!

25 10 2009
Eowyn

Anita Wormtongue Dunn (“I love Mao!” communications czar)
Cass Wormtongue Sunstein (“let’s remove organs without patient’s consent!” regulatory czar)
Kevin Wormtongue Jennings (“screw you, God!” safe schools czar)
Mark Wormtongue Lloyd (“white people must step down!” diversity czar)
Dalia Wormtongue Mogahed (“shariah law is good for women!” Muslim czar)
Ron Wormtongue Bloom (“free market is nonsense!” manufacturing czar)
John Wormtongue Holdren (“forced abortion is constitutional!” science czar)
Van Wormtongue Jones (“Republicans are assholes!” green jobs czar)

I’m convinced! Obama is Saruman!

25 10 2009
giovanniworld

LOL!

Gio-

25 10 2009
Steve

jocaasbe………..nice stuff. would you mind a link to your blog, or did I miss it somewhere?……And welcome….Steve…. 😉

25 10 2009
DCG

Typical lib response…bash corporate America (which many of them work for), throw in a fbomb, and mention Faux News. How original. These libs are seriously brain dead…indoctrinated by the govt schools, with no comprehension of the meaning of liberty as they demand govt be their end all. (nice post jocaasbe!)

Oh, the libs bickering will never end, in fact they thrive on it. I believe they inherently cannot build a life of their own that is productive without knowing their govt will hold their hand when they fail.

Seems to me the solution is the rise of the Conservative Party, led by Sarah. The polls reflect the falling popularity of both parties and this country needs some real change. Bring us back Sarah to the spirit of our founding Fathers!

25 10 2009
DCG

oops, my bold caption went on a bit too long!!

25 10 2009
jocaasbe

Steve,
my website is http://www.davesthoughtson.com. If you’re interested, please register and add to thoughts on.

25 10 2009
Steve

jocaasbe…….Thanks, Steve

Leave a Reply

